Coverart for item
The Resource Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray

Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray

Label
Cooking for Picasso : a novel
Title
Cooking for Picasso
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Camille Aubray
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life. The French Riviera, spring 1936: It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Cafe Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request--to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he's secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito. Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life--and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family's authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny. New York, present day: Celine, a Hollywood makeup artist who's come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother's enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Celine carries out Julie's wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Côte d'Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Celine discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future. Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera's most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, Cooking for Picasso is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make, as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre."--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Aubray, Camille
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.E46
LC item number
C665 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Picasso, Pablo
  • Women cooks
  • Cooking
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
Label
Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1671775
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
390 pages
Isbn
9780399177651
Lccn
2016016922
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1671775
  • (Sirsi) 1671775
  • (OCoLC)930824924
Label
Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1671775
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
390 pages
Isbn
9780399177651
Lccn
2016016922
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1671775
  • (Sirsi) 1671775
  • (OCoLC)930824924

Library Locations

    • Reuben Hoar Library (Littleton)Borrow it
      41 Shattuck Street, Littleton, MA, 01460, US
      42.5421931 -71.48061799999999
Processing Feedback ...